skip to Main Content
Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management


The level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety is a qualification for aspiring health and safety professionals. It is aimed at learners who are responsible for developing and applying health and safety procedures day-to-day in an organisation. They are likely to be managers looking to improve their knowledge and skills. The Diploma is designed to provide learners with the expertise required to undertake a career as a health and safety practitioner and it also provides a sound basis for progression to postgraduate study.

Qualification Titles and Codes

The qualification has been accredited to the Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) and each qualification unit has its own unique Qualification Accreditation Number (QAN). This number will appear on the learner’s final certification document. Each unit with the qualification has its own RQF code. The QAN for this qualification is as follows:

Qualifi Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management – 603/5226/7

Qualification Structure

The Qualifi Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management comprises four units in total. All units are mandatory, and all units cover a number of topics relating to learning outcomes

Unit Reference Units Level TQT Credits GLH
OHS601 Principles of Occupational Health, Safety and Environmental Management and Regulation 6 100 10 44
OHS602 Occupational Health and Safety in Organisations 6 100 10 44
OHS603 Risk Management and Control in Occupational Health and Safety 6 100 10 44
OHS604 Working with Hazards and Emergencies in Occupational Health and Safety 6 150 15 58

Entry Requirements

• A minimum of a Level 5 qualification in a related sector
• A minimum of 3 years’ work experience which demonstrates current and relevant industry knowledge.
• In certain circumstances, students with considerable experience but no formal qualifications may be considered, subject to interview and being able to demonstrate their ability to cope with the demands of the program.

Further Progression or Links

Learners completing the QUALIFI Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Management can progress to:
• A QUALIFI Level 7 Diploma
• Directly into employment in an associated profession

Language of Assessment

The qualification is assessed in English only.

Scheme of Assessment

Assessment for Level 6 Diploma is written examinations for each unit separately. The written examinations test knowledge, understanding and the application of learning. Assessments may be completed in any order.

Paper A and B

All questions are compulsory, total marks are 150 & passing marks are 50%.
Total question 10 in two formats i.e.
• Short answer 5 questions (10 marks each)
• Long answer 5 questions (20 marks each)
Assessment time = Max 4 hours
The question paper will be the same for all learners
The learner can complete units 1 & 2 separately or combine.

Re-Sit Examination

If a candidate’s performance in any unit is lower than pass, a candidate may re-sit within two years by paying an appropriate fee.


This qualification is presently in the recognition process with the IOSH standards to qualify Graduate IOSH membership status for learners.

Back To Top